Ceiba trees?

We are lucky to live in an area with wonderful flowers and trees. This one tree in particular caught my eye. It’s huge, and gorgeous! It’s in what looks like a beautiful corner park  with a waterlily pond and other beautiful trees and plants. It’s probably private property so I didn’t want to stand my husband under the tree for perspective, but hopefully my photos give some idea of the magnificence of this tree.

If my googling and internet research have pointed me in the right direction, this is a ceiba tree. Apparently there are different varieties, so if I keep an eye on it to see what kind of flowers and/or fruit it produces, that should help me identify it further. There is another huge tree in the neighborhood that appears to be the same type of tree. This one is in the side yard of someone’s house.

There are many other interesting trees in the area but these two are by far the biggest. I’m sure they are not the last that I will be sharing!

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Kris Cunningham

We live in David, Chiriqui Provence, Republic of Panama! This blog is about some of our experiences in our new country.
This entry was posted in Exploring the Area, Panama, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ceiba trees?

  1. Tammy says:

    I have always loved trees, ever since I was a tom boy and always looking for the best tree fort tree or climbing tree. When I was a tween, I found a tree near the pond that we skated on in winter, that had this lower limb just perfect for sitting on and reading while listening to the wild life. You are so lucky to be living where you are living. I didn’t realize how lucky I was when I was a child to be living in the places I lived, that had such wonderful wild life.

    Like

    • kristc99 says:

      You would love it here! We have so many trees, and so many interesting ones. I have files of pictures I’ll post one of these days. You need one of the wonderful trees by the river, perfect for reading and relaxing. Oh yes we are lucky, very lucky, and that’s only about trees. There is so much more here too. There is talk about the airport here getting finished. If they ever get direct flights to the US we’ll have to plan a reunion!

      Like

  2. LuAnn says:

    We saw some of these beauties while in the interior of Mexico.

    Like

  3. Alastair says:

    Magnificent looking trees

    Like

  4. allison says:

    My next trip to Panama in March, I hope to see the square trees in El Valle. Forgot to look for them (or go to area/park) where they can be found. Great pictures of the ceibas!

    Like

  5. yes, those are ceiba trees, close cousins to the ceibo that john and mary and nancy (and i) have featured as well. they’re handsome and strong and seem to pull the enerty up from the earth and extend it in all directions through its branches. if you walk up and ‘pat’ it around its massive girth, you’ll probably hear a hollow-echo of a sound. many cultures consider it a sacred tree, and they say that its roots go to the underworld while the branches go to the heavens.

    i love all of the photos that you posted. yes, the ceiba is stately and handsome!
    z

    Like

    • kristc99 says:

      Ahh, thank you for confirming that. They are indeed beautiful. I read something about the Mayan people considering them sacred, and I can see why.

      Like

Comments are closed.